Neighborhood Nature

Our Family's Nature Blog

My Favorite Family Nature Blogs, Part 1 June 8, 2009

To my way of thinking, a family nature blog is either (1) written by a family who want to share their natural discoveries with the online world, or (2) written for families to encourage them to get out and discover nature on their own, or (3) both of the above. Our Neighborhood Nature blog strives to be number (3). In my explorations of the blogging world, I’ve found examples of all three kinds of blogs, and they’re worth sharing with you.

So, here are some of my favorite family nature blogs. So I don’t overwhelm you, I’ll spread my selections over several posts. Here are the first three:

5 Orange Potatoes. Want ideas for nature-oriented crafts and activities? Then this blog may be for you. It’s written by Lisa, an Ohio mother with two young daughters. She describes herself as “a stay at home, nature lovin,’ felt lovin,’ vegetarian earth mama.” Like many family nature bloggers, she’s a former teacher. Her reason for blogging? “I have been asked numerous times how I have raised such nature lovin’ and creative little ladies. This blog is dedicated to those questions, this is how I do it!” Here are some of my favorite posts:

Handbook of Nature Study. This family’s blog is an “online nature journal using Anna Comstock’s book, Handbook of Nature Study, as our textbook and the great outdoors as our classroom.” Barb, a homeschooling mother of four, presents more than forty “Outdoor Hour Challenges,” short assignments based on the Handbook. Most of her examples were found near her California home. Some of my favorite posts:

Wild About Nature. Kenton and Rebecca write this blog to share their natural adventures with both children and adults. They focus on the nature they discovery wandering near their home in western Wisconsin. The authors are naturalists and nature educators whose website, kentonandrebecca.com, includes more examples of their writing, photography, and family-oriented classes. Some of my favorite posts:

—–

Although I’ve only listed three blogs in this post, it would take hours to explore them all completely and many weeks to duplicate  the activities and explorations they describe. I’ll try to post three more of my favorite family nature blogs later this week. If you can’t wait, more family nature blogs are listed in the sidebar on your left.

And if you know of other family nature blogs worth sharing, please link to them in the comments section, below.

 

One Response to “My Favorite Family Nature Blogs, Part 1”

  1. lisa Says:

    I’m so honored! Thank you for the kind words.

    Lisa 🙂


Leave a Reply

