Neighborhood Nature

Our Family’s Nature Blog

I’m On Board With Project Noah March 15, 2010

A few days ago I uploaded my first post to Project Noah. “Noah” stands for “Networked Organisms And Habitats.” To quote from their About page:

“Noah is a tool that nature lovers can use to explore and document local wildlife and a common technology platform that research groups can use to harness the power of citizen scientists everywhere.”

I loaded the free Noah app onto my iPhone, and now I can upload photos to Project Noah from almost anywhere I go. I also can access Noah posts from either my iPhone or over the Web on my home computer. I can choose nearby Noah post locations to investigate from either a stack of photos (arranged by distance, closest first) or from a satellite map (precise locations marked on the map by small leaves).

So far, I’ve uploaded photos of:

  • Spring flowers, like Snowdrops (go here to see them)
  • A pellet from our favorite Great Horned Owl (go here)
  • Some Herring Gulls eating dead fish on the ice at Columbus Park (go here)

But my favorite post is a photo of a white Opossum I found a few days ago at Columbus Park:

I snapped this iPhone photo of the white Opossum in Columbus Park on the west side of Chicago.

My Noah post for this Possum can be found here.

So, for the next month or so I’ll be posting iPhotos I take around the neighborhood and beyond. If enough folks start doing the same thing in their neighborhoods, Project Noah could become a really cool resource for anyone interested in finding nature near their homes and beyond.

To see what’s been posted near you, just:

  • Go the the Project Noah home page (here).
  • Type your location into the search box above the map.
  • Look for the tiny leaves (individual photos) or round circles with numbers (when the leaves overlap because there are lots of posts from the same area).
  • Then start clicking to see what other folks have been seeing in your neighborhood.

—–

To read about the Project Noah development team, go here.

Here’s what some other folks have to say about Project Noah:

 

2 Responses to “I’m On Board With Project Noah”

  1. Debi Says:

    I recently loaded the NOAH app into my iTouch (no iPhone here) but haven’t become interactive yet. Thanks for the reminder! I think this could be a great way to blend technology with nature — hopefully adding one more way to get people outside and connected to nature.

  2. lakechicagoshores Says:

    Oh wow, I’ve never seen a possum that wasn’t gray before! I’ll have to keep an eye out for our possums to see if that variant color is seen around us.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.